My Favorite Dad…

My Mom taught me so much.  Cooking, creativity, kindness, caring, empathy, and how to properly vacuum a floor and make a bed.  I owe her more than I could ever repay.

My Dad, he taught me everything else.

Dad taught me how to never quit.  He taught me that working at something was work.  And working at something always paid off.  Sometimes it paid off in areas that I wasn’t working towards but it always paid off.

He taught me how to fight for what I want, to sacrifice one thing to earn something else.  He taught me that dreams and goals matter and are achievable.  In teaching me that, he taught me that some teachers and people who speak from authority are liars or ignorant.  Don’t tell me things aren’t possible when I’ve seen my Dad DO THEM…

My Dad coached my brother, my sisters, and his grandchildren in a sport he knew nothing about because he wanted to be in contact with us constantly.  He wasn’t a helicopter parent (nor was my Mom).  We wouldn’t have been able to ride our 3 inch wide skateboards down the sharp inclined sidewalks into what I recall was shards of glass had he been a helicopter parent.  But he sacrificed his time for his children.

My Dad taught me how to be a father and a husband and how to respect myself and care for my family regardless of what happens.

My Dad, made me awesome.

(If you know me, you obviously saw that coming…).

One of my favorite expressions of love towards my wife is this:

You are my favorite…  (person).

I whisper the person part after a short pause.  And, yeah, it’s true, she’s my favorite person, my best friend, etc.

But Dad…  You are my favorite Dad…  Bar none..

Leave a Reply

